Seven Benchmarks


EDGE strategy includes seven strategic goals, or benchmarks, to be achieved by 2018: Creating 7,500 new jobs; Increasing payroll earnings & income by $420 million & $7,000 per capita; Reducing unemployment to 5.5 percent; Increasing public school graduation rates by 4 percent; Increasing number of college-bound students by 7 percent; Increasing existing industry visits from 30 to 100 annually; and Increasing Quality of life – as measured by KSU’s Quality of Life Survey.


EDGE: A Partnership


EDGE is about partnership. There are seven Development Authorities in Cobb County: Cobb County Development Authority, and the development authorities of Cobb’s cities – Acworth, Austell, Kennesaw, Marietta, Powder Springs, and Smyrna. EDGE brings together these partners and the Cobb Chamber of Commerce to market Cobb and its cities to prospective business and industries looking for sites, buildings and quality communities.  


A Strategic Blueprint


Developed with input from county, city, business and education leaders, Cobb EDGE provides a first-ever strategic blueprint for comprehensive community and economic development in Cobb County. EDGE starts with improving Cobb County through its focus on community development. When we improve our communities, we improve the “product” that our economic developers market to prospective businesses, including quality of life, quality communities and top-notch educational opportunities for Cobb’s citizens.